Daily Resource Feed 03/27/2012

  • About 20% of people have no privacy settings on their social media activities. 

    Tags: smm, privacy, chp3, cb, settings, data, Pew, 2012

  • A professor and grad students have created an EnemyGraph app for Facebook so people can indicate dislikes. 

    Tags: smm, Facebook, chp5, dislike, like, enemygraph, app, v2

    • Last month he and a student released a Facebook plug-in called EnemyGraph, which users can install free and name their enemies, which then show up in their profiles. “We’re using ‘enemy’ in the same loose way that Facebook uses ‘friends,'” Mr. Terry explained. “It really just means something you have an issue with.”
    • Mr. Terry wondered if Facebook would even allow his plug-in application to pass the company’s approval process, and even though it did, he still believes administrators will shut it down if it becomes popular. The day I talked with Mr. Terry, only 300 people were using it, but at that point no national media had picked up the story.
  • Facebook is offering ad space on the page that appears after a user logs out. The space costs .20$ per impression or $710,000 for every logout for a specific day. To own the log-out page in the US is being offered at a rate of $550,000. Bing has used the log-out ad and Ford has purchased the space for a video ad for the new Mustang.

    Tags: smm, chp5, Facebook, advertising, logout page, cpm, media, v2, graphic

    • However, there are an estimated 37 million users that bother to log-out each day so that’s – tappity-tappity-tap – about $710,000 per day to cover all bases. Log-out ads can only be targeted by age, current location and gender.
    • According to Ad Age, “Log-out ads aren’t available as a stand-alone purchase but are bundled with premium home-page ads that users see on their news feeds. The one-day ask to own the log-out page in the U.S. was $550,000 for home-page ads, plus $160,000 for the log-out inventory”.
    • ClickZ reports that Ford is one of the latest to be spotted using log-out ads with a video ad for the new Mustang.
  • A legal explanation as it relates to Pinterest and social media

    Must read on Pinterest and driving web traffic

    Tags: smm, Pinterest, chp6, copyright, social law, images, terms of use

    • the creator of an original work (or the person who commissioned the work, if it’s a “work for hire”) automatically owns copyright in it, whether or not she registers the work with the US Copyright Office. Registering your work, of course, has its benefits, some of which are especially significant in the Pinterest example
      • Copyright comprises several exclusive rights and powers pertaining to creative work. Often referred to as a “bundle of rights,” copyright means the owner has exclusive rights to do the following:

        1. Reproduce the copyrighted work (make copies).
        2. Prepare derivative works.
        3. Distribute copies to the public.
        4. Perform certain kinds of works publicly (e.g., plays, dance routines, movies).
        5. Display the copyrighted work publicly (e.g., sculptures, paintings).
        6. Perform the copyrighted work publicly by means of a digital audio transmission (for sound recordings).
    • Let’s say, I’m an entrepreneur who sells widgets. To market those widgets more effectively, I take attractive photos of them and post them on my website. A widget enthusiast who is unaffiliated with my business starts a pin board on Pinterest and “pins” one of the photos from my site.

      For this example, let’s assume that the enthusiast “pins” the image directly from my site, which means that the “pin” will link to the page that displays that photo on my site.

      The pinning process involves making a copy of my photo; Pinterest generates a smaller version of images, and uploads them to pin boards on that site. Pursuant to the copyright law referenced earlier in this article, doing so constitutes “reproducing the copyrighted work,” which would be in violation of my exclusive right to do so as the copyright owner. Ergo, Pinterest and the widget enthusiast would be liable for copyright infringement.

      At least, that would be the case if Pinterest’s Terms of Use did not shift the liability completely onto the user/enthusiast/pinner. But since the agreement shifts liability to the user, the pinner has assumed complete responsibility for the violation of copyright law. As copyright owner, I could sue that pinner for infringement.

    • Here is where registration with the US Copyright Office becomes important. Had I registered my copyrighted work (my widget photo) with the US Copyright Office prior to the “pinfringement,” I could bring suit against the Pinterest user and seek “statutory damages” in the event I couldn’t prove exactly how much money her unsanctioned reproduction of my work cost me. I could also seek attorney’s fees, but only if I had registered the photo as a copyrighted work before bringing suit. Source: 17 U.S.C. Ch. 4, §§ 411 and 412. (PDF)
    • If I were to sue, as a business owner I would alienate a brand evangelist, as well as countless others who will learn about my lawsuit and “flame” me online. I would also be wasting the opportunity to harness the power of viral marketing without paying a cent for the privilege.
    • Make no mistake, Pinterest has a huge and growing following (11.7 million users), and repins currently make up 80% of pinning activity. In other words, my widget photo might well be pinned and repinned dozens of times (if not more), with a link leading back to my website where I sell widgets.
    • Have I really been damaged because someone reproduced my copyrighted photo in this instance? Assuming I desire website traffic and sales, the answer is clearly no.

      Now, let’s change the facts and assume that the Pinterest user does not link back to my site, but rather downloads my photo, uploads it directly to the online pin board, and makes no mention of me.

    • In that instance, I’m not reaping the benefits of free viral marketing, but I’m still not really being damaged, because I’m not in the business of selling photos. I’m in the business of selling widgets.
  • Tags: social games

Posted from Diigo. The rest of SocialMedia&Marketing group favorite links are here.

Leave a Reply

